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	<title>Comments on: Chasing our Long Tails</title>
	<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/</link>
	<description>The official blog of Yahoo! Search MArketing</description>
	<pubDate>Sat, 17 May 2008 13:20:10 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.3.3</generator>
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		<title>By: Rachel Rokeach</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-404486</link>
		<dc:creator>Rachel Rokeach</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 14 May 2008 01:29:45 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-404486</guid>
		<description>I've tried both ways for a long time - since the days that overture used to be GoTo - and still find that the long tail works for businesses that I am in, where the head tail is so high &#38; competitive that it eats all the profits.

Rachel Rokeach
&lt;a HREF="http://www.pokerchest.com/index.html" rel="nofollow"&gt;www.PokerChest.com&lt;/A&gt;</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ve tried both ways for a long time - since the days that overture used to be GoTo - and still find that the long tail works for businesses that I am in, where the head tail is so high &amp; competitive that it eats all the profits.</p>
<p>Rachel Rokeach<br />
<a HREF="http://www.pokerchest.com/index.html" rel="nofollow">http://www.PokerChest.com</a></p>
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		<title>By: UKLoanExpress</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-403786</link>
		<dc:creator>UKLoanExpress</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 05:56:17 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-403786</guid>
		<description>To Post 43: 

I don't understand why you will need 7 hrs just to **FIND** 50 long tail kws.

"For instance if your ppc person spends 7 hours (at $40/hour) to generate 50 long tail words that..."

Regards,

Ray
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		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>To Post 43: </p>
<p>I don&#8217;t understand why you will need 7 hrs just to **FIND** 50 long tail kws.</p>
<p>&#8220;For instance if your ppc person spends 7 hours (at $40/hour) to generate 50 long tail words that&#8230;&#8221;</p>
<p>Regards,</p>
<p>Ray<br />
&#8212;&#8211;</p>
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		<title>By: Will Nguyen</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-397492</link>
		<dc:creator>Will Nguyen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 19:54:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-397492</guid>
		<description>One major factor you didn't mention was that the development costs for mining keywords and setting up their campaigns can be cost prohibitive depending on the size, cost, and benefit of the keywords themselves. For instance if your ppc person spends 7 hours (at $40/hour) to generate 50 long tail words that generate 2000 impressions over a year period with a click rate of 5 percent at a cost of $.50/click and (keeping score: $50 + $280 to the ppc guy) a conversion rate of 8 percent that generates 8 sales at $30/each, you actually lost $90.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>One major factor you didn&#8217;t mention was that the development costs for mining keywords and setting up their campaigns can be cost prohibitive depending on the size, cost, and benefit of the keywords themselves. For instance if your ppc person spends 7 hours (at $40/hour) to generate 50 long tail words that generate 2000 impressions over a year period with a click rate of 5 percent at a cost of $.50/click and (keeping score: $50 + $280 to the ppc guy) a conversion rate of 8 percent that generates 8 sales at $30/each, you actually lost $90.</p>
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		<title>By: Thersia</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-392857</link>
		<dc:creator>Thersia</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 05 May 2008 09:14:39 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-392857</guid>
		<description>The article is very interesting, and by reading the comments, I think LT keywords are worth the try.  Less clicks, but more sales makes sense to me.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The article is very interesting, and by reading the comments, I think LT keywords are worth the try.  Less clicks, but more sales makes sense to me.</p>
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		<title>By: Carl Loop</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-392439</link>
		<dc:creator>Carl Loop</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 04 May 2008 20:37:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-392439</guid>
		<description>Good information, and it seems intuitive that long tail KWs would become the most competitive words, since by definition, they convert better.  Interesting idea about separating long tail and general terms in a PPC campaign.
Carl</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Good information, and it seems intuitive that long tail KWs would become the most competitive words, since by definition, they convert better.  Interesting idea about separating long tail and general terms in a PPC campaign.<br />
Carl</p>
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		<title>By: UK Loan Express</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390793</link>
		<dc:creator>UK Loan Express</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 02 May 2008 19:38:48 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390793</guid>
		<description>The longer the monkeyword tails the better.
Why...?

1. Autopilot PPC is possible and less mental stress as bloody PPC competition is not as hash;

2. ROI is FAR much higher;

3. Surefire PPC profit is almost certain.

4. Good cash flow is possible as total CPC is low.

5. Not fear of PPC spying tools like...:)

Good Luck everybody.

Ray</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The longer the monkeyword tails the better.<br />
Why&#8230;?</p>
<p>1. Autopilot PPC is possible and less mental stress as bloody PPC competition is not as hash;</p>
<p>2. ROI is FAR much higher;</p>
<p>3. Surefire PPC profit is almost certain.</p>
<p>4. Good cash flow is possible as total CPC is low.</p>
<p>5. Not fear of PPC spying tools like&#8230;:)</p>
<p>Good Luck everybody.</p>
<p>Ray</p>
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		<title>By: Jewels of Denial</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390558</link>
		<dc:creator>Jewels of Denial</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 02 May 2008 14:23:17 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390558</guid>
		<description>Interesting article, though I would have to say our results completely favor the use of the long tail.

Sure, head terms bring a lot of non-qualified people to our site, but it's those specific tail searches that bring in the conversions.

Head = Hits
Tail = Sales

At least that how it is for our company.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Interesting article, though I would have to say our results completely favor the use of the long tail.</p>
<p>Sure, head terms bring a lot of non-qualified people to our site, but it&#8217;s those specific tail searches that bring in the conversions.</p>
<p>Head = Hits<br />
Tail = Sales</p>
<p>At least that how it is for our company.</p>
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		<title>By: R Dilip Kumar</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390254</link>
		<dc:creator>R Dilip Kumar</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 02 May 2008 05:44:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390254</guid>
		<description>The idea of the "long tail" is probably what we small marketers thrive upon. This is what generates sales for us and keep our cash registers ringing. Had we had to bid for the main keywords we would have gone bankrupt by now. With softwares like the &lt;a href="http://www.micronichefinderstore.info" rel="nofollow"&gt;Micro Niche Finder&lt;/a&gt; finding such long tail keywords have become even more easier.So keep chasing the "long tail" is a right quote.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The idea of the &#8220;long tail&#8221; is probably what we small marketers thrive upon. This is what generates sales for us and keep our cash registers ringing. Had we had to bid for the main keywords we would have gone bankrupt by now. With softwares like the <a href="http://www.micronichefinderstore.info" rel="nofollow">Micro Niche Finder</a> finding such long tail keywords have become even more easier.So keep chasing the &#8220;long tail&#8221; is a right quote.</p>
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		<title>By: Safe Cleaning Products</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390240</link>
		<dc:creator>Safe Cleaning Products</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Fri, 02 May 2008 05:13:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-390240</guid>
		<description>I agree with the idea of separating LT keywords into different ad groups. I like to keep them in a larger group, so I don't have to write too many different ads for small groups of keywords.

Then, as I see some impressions on specific LT keywords, I might pull them into a separate group, since now they "deserve" their own ad.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I agree with the idea of separating LT keywords into different ad groups. I like to keep them in a larger group, so I don&#8217;t have to write too many different ads for small groups of keywords.</p>
<p>Then, as I see some impressions on specific LT keywords, I might pull them into a separate group, since now they &#8220;deserve&#8221; their own ad.</p>
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		<title>By: Discount Cruise Guy</title>
		<link>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-389985</link>
		<dc:creator>Discount Cruise Guy</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 01 May 2008 20:15:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.ysmblog.com/blog/2008/03/25/chasing-our-long-tails/#comment-389985</guid>
		<description>Interesting article.  I've been a long-tailer in the travel industry for years.  It's saved my company an unbelievable amount of money a boosted conversion dramatically.  I think the more specific a person is in their query, the more ready they are to buy.

Good article.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Interesting article.  I&#8217;ve been a long-tailer in the travel industry for years.  It&#8217;s saved my company an unbelievable amount of money a boosted conversion dramatically.  I think the more specific a person is in their query, the more ready they are to buy.</p>
<p>Good article.</p>
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